Horizon Bank Awards Scholarships to students in LaPorte, Lake and Porter Counties in Indiana


Yolanda_and_scholarship_winnersHorizon Bank Minority Scholarship Program awards eleven students with $1000 scholarships. Yolanda Davis, Community Reinvestment Act Officer, presented the scholarships during the Urban League of Northwest Indiana, Inc. Annual Scholastic Achievement Awards Luncheon on April 25, 2017.  

The following students were awarded scholarships: Nuri Crosby, Alan Martinez, Katlyn Bonnell, Curtis Nugin, Alexis Biggers, Taya Ingram, Rahmaan Jaami Ruth, Mariah Symone Barren, Essence Baity, Da’Shaun LaTroy Crawford and Emma Meriam Zaknoun.


James Neff, Executive Vice President of Horizon said, “Horizon is pleased to support these deserving students with scholarship money to further their education. Our hope is the students return to the area after graduation to join the workforce and support and strengthen their local communities.”

Horizon’s Diversity Business Council developed the Minority Scholarship Program to encourage minority students to pursue higher educations. The scholarships awarded were based on academic achievement, demonstrated leadership and future potential. The application process was administered through a partnership with the Urban League of NWI Inc., along with community leaders who chose the recipients based upon scoring of set criteria.


Horizon Bancorp is a locally owned, independent, commercial bank holding company serving Northern and Central Indiana and Southwest and Central Michigan and Central Ohio through its commercial banking subsidiary Horizon Bank, NA. Horizon also offers mortgage-banking services throughout the Midwest. Horizon Bancorp may be reached online at www.horizonbank.com. Its common stock is traded on the NASDAQ Global Select Market under the symbol HBNC.



Contact:  Amy Phares
Phone: (219) 874-9208
Fax:     (219) 873-2628